top of page
  • Writer's pictureKelly

"Raindrops on roses..."

As many of you likely know, I am ending 10 days of quarantine after being exposed to a diagnosed case of COVID. Turns out, I am fine, and my time in quarantine was much ado about nothing.


But, as I have meandered my way through the last 10 days, I have realized – and, in fact, given thanks over – the things that have made my time quarantining easier, and, as you all may be facing quarantine all too soon, I thought I’d let you know what proved most helpful…


An Amazon Prime membership so that I was able to order, among many, many other things, LED Christmas lights. (I put said lights on the outside of my house – a feat I had never done before but am now relishing and delighting in.)


A college kid with a kind disposition, excellent driving skills, and a willingness to go to the grocery store to get victuals for the entire family.


Wonderful folks from church who called, texted, and Facebooked to check on me. They were ever so kind and brought delightful contact from the outside world.


Nice slippers, which, along with my yard shoes, were my sole footwear for over a week. The truth is that the world keeps spinning when a person opts not to wear shoes. Who knew?


A more than ample supply of faded, hole-y Levi’s and baggy sweatshirts. Sigh. How I shall miss these when I go back to non-hole-y jeans and real shirts!


An acre and a half of drought-infested paradise, providing lots of room to pull weeds, meander, and get out without actually getting out.


A Netflix subscription, allowing me access to all four seasons of "The Crown." (If I return to work with a British accent, y’all just ignore it.)


I also learned that, while I have always blamed lack of time as the reason I do not cook more often, I now ashamedly admit that this is simply not true. I just don’t like to cook. The amount of time I have is irrelevant. Go figure.


So, good luck to you all as you – sooner or later – enter your own quarantine. May yours be as uneventful as mine, and may you also learn how blessed you are as you isolate.


Cheerio!


Y’all stay safe out there…


“But Jesus often withdrew to lonely places and prayed.”

Luke 5:16



35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page